Main menu


Business Note for September 18, 2022

featured image

The Gazette’s business notes summarize the week’s promotions, new hires, certifications, added business lines, business events, and more in Cedar Rapids, Iowa City, and the rest of the Corridor.

Information and photos can be submitted to Business Notes by email to or via site.

Mercy Medical Center Recruitment Stephanie Lukaska As a Nurse Practitioner at the Mercy Urology Clinic. Allison McNeilNurse Practitioner at Mercy Neurosurgery Clinic. Jonathan Nunes Bretona cardiologist at the Mercy Cardiology Clinic. Shankar Das Kundumadama gastroenterologist at the Mercy Gastroenterology Clinic. Andrew Liu, an otolaryngologist at the Mercy Otolaryngology Clinic.When Natalie Peña Polancoa gastroenterologist at the Mercy Gastroenterology Clinic, all in Cedar Rapids.

Jeff Becker joined Hills Bank as Vice President of Information Security for the Hills Office.


Promotion of community savings banks Kristen Arthur Senior Vice President of Operations.

Travis Swarzendruber Promoted to Officer, Financial Management Support Officer, Hills Bank Hills Office.

Promoted by Lynn County Sheriff’s Office Dylan Schmidt to sergeant Chris Smith to Lieutenant.


Simmons Perrine Moyer Bergman Randy Scholar Recognized as Best Lawyer of the Year for Mergers and Acquisitions Act 2023 by Best Lawyers.

Keto Kitchen’s Mohamed Nasraddin has been named a winner of the Cedar Rapids Metro Economic Alliance’s Race for Space program. He gave away his $20,000, his $7,500 credit towards architectural design services and buildouts from his Form Function Studio, owner education courses from BerganKDV, and his one-year membership to the Alliance. Awarded.

Board and appointments

David SheerenExecutive Director of Lynn County Community Services, has been reappointed to the National County Social Welfare Association and Education Policy and Steering Committee for 2022-23.

Todd OlsonPresident of Mount Mercy College, Anna McClain Lion Bridge Brewing Co., and Jacob Vetter Simmons Perrine Moyer Bergman has been appointed to the Board of Directors of the Indian Creek Nature Center.


The Cedar Rapids Metro Economic Alliance is accepting applications from companies for its Buy Give Grow program, which provides selected companies with marketing opportunities on social media platforms, websites, television, newspapers and radio. Application forms are available at The application deadline is September 23rd.

Insights and sessions

The East Central Iowa Council of Governments will host a free webinar on Thursday at 10:30am in the Innovation Lab. Details can be found at

The Gazette Business Breakfast panel’s third quarter discussion, “Small Business Tool Kit for 2023: Lessons Learned, Challenges, and Opportunities to Prepare,” will be live online on September 27 at 9:00 AM. Panelist is Paul Andreasen, founder and owner of Saucy Focaccia. Sidney Likhoff, CEO, Almost Famous Popcorn. Kymberly Stevenson, Targeted Small Business Development Program Manager, Iowa Economic Development Authority. Robin Valenta, his CEO of West Music; Registration is free, but required. This discussion series is sponsored by BerganKDV.

The next installment in the “Gazette Spotlight on …” series will be published on September 27th at This series of interviews evaluates companies and organizations that focus on growth. We are interviewing Luke Bishop of BAE Systems. Big Grove’s Matt Swift. Sarah Nelson of Community Unity Crisis Services. Also, Better Business Bureau’s Cedar his Rapids office will join the Gazette to speak with Mark his Mayer of Interconnex. The series is sponsored by his TrueNorth Cos.

Monthly face-to-face networking and informative breakfasts hosted by SCORE. The following breakfasts will be held on Thursdays from 7:30 am to 9:00 am at Scott’s Family Restaurant, Cedar Rapids, 1906 Blairs Ferry Rd NE. The meeting will include tips for polishing your elevator speech. Visit

Kristen Arthur

Jeff Becker

Shankar Das Kundumadam

Andrew Liu

Stephanie Lukaska

Anna McClain

Allison McNeil

Jonathan Nunes Breton

Todd Olson

Natalie Peña Polanco

Dylan Schmidt

Randy Scholar

Chris Smith

Travis Swarzendruber

David Sheeren

Jacob Vetter